Wim Vandekeybus / Ultima Vez

  • Thu 06.10.05 20:30 h
  • Fri 07.10.05 20:30 h
  • Sat 08.10.05 20:30 h
  • Sun 09.10.05 19 h

Inspired by myths and stories about the killing of infants and innocents, Vandekeybus creates a timeless, fictional, yet universal story about living in isolation, the alienation of the outside world and about loss and the pain that it brings. Who is the saviour of our world? Who is the prophet today and what does he proclaim? Is the Messiah a hero or a coward? Innovatively combining video and film with the story that is being played out on stage, a dialogue between reality and the virtual evolves...

Premiere 27. May 2005, Singapore Arts Festival


Direction, Choreography, Scenography and Film: Wim Vandekeybus
Music: David Eugene Edwards, Fausto Romitelli
Sound design: Josh Martin
Text: P.F. Thomèse & Ultima Vez
Costumes/Styling: Isabelle Lhoas
Dramaturgy: Greet Van Poeck, Titus Muizelaar

From and with: Laura Aris Alvarez, Tone Brulin, Elena Fokina, Robert M. Hayden, Krijn Hermans, Milan Herich, Germán Jauregui Allue, Jorge Jauregui Allue, Linda Kapetanea, Thi-Mai Nguyen, Manuel Ronda, Helder Seabra, Won-Meyong Won

Produced by Ultima Vez & KVS (Royal Flemish Theater) 
Co-produced by Singapore Arts Festival, Festival d'Avignon, PACT Zollverein / Choreographisches Zentrum NRW, Essen/RuhrTriennale, Théâtre de la Ville, Paris, and Cankarjev Dom, Ljubljana. 
With support from the European Commission's Culture 2000 programme, ADAMI (Paris), SACD (Brussels).
Ultima Vez is supported by the Flemish Government and the Flemish Community Commission of the Brussels Capital Region. The performances at PACT Zollverein are supported by the Ministerpräsidenten des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

More Events
  • Thu 18.04.24 18 h – 21 h
  • Thu 23.05.24 18 h – 21 h
  • Thu 20.06.24 18 h – 21 h
  • Wed 12.06.24Sun 23.06.24

Idylla Silmarovi / Edgar Kanaykõ Xakriabá
Idylla Silmarovi & Edgar Kanaykõ Xakriabá

Free admission
  • Fri 21.06.24 18 h
  • Sat 22.06.24 16 h

Memories & Resistance
With Idylla Silmarovi, Edgar Kanakykõ Xakriabá, iSaAc Espinoza Hidrobo and Qusay Awad