IMPACT20
Protektorama toxica (cared for by J.P. Raether), ›Protektox Impossible Forest [5.4.9]‹, Tanznacht Berlin (2020), Photo ©: Gosia Lehmann

IMPACT20 – PLANETARY ALLIANCES
Outlines for polyphonic communities
Online–Symposium with Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti & Johannes Paul Raether

PLANETARY ALLIANCES

For years, experts from all fields of knowledge have been occupied with the complex interconnections and vital dependencies between the human and the non-human. Under the title ›Planetary Alliances‹, IMPACT20 invites you to a polylogue on relationship net- works in which humans are just one actor among many.

As a scientific and artistic think-tank, IMPACT20 criss-crosses perspectives from biotechnology, natural science, philosophy and contemporary art: Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti and Johannes Paul Raether reflect on the relativities, metabolisms and relationships between the elements and protagonists of our world and how these impact on ecological, social, economic and technological developments in a community. How can new alliances that no longer place humankind at the centre of perception, shape and define new models of societies?

The symposium, which is taking place online for the first time this year, is made up of two modules: The lectures and talks by and with Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti and Johannes Paul Raether and the Assembly, during which participants discuss their own projects. This year’s edition of IMPACT will be followed by the ›JUNCTIONS‹ initiative, which is aimed specifically at IMPACT participants and will support longer-term research projects.

The working language is English.

A project within the framework of the Alliance of International Production Houses supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media.

Watch IMPACT20 Nov 12 
Watch IMPACT20 Nov 13

PARTICIPATION

The application period for participation in IMPACT20 ended on 02.11.2020.

Who? 
IMPACT20 is aimed at practitioners and theorists from the fields of the performing and visual arts, science, journalism, technology, activism, social work and architecture.

What?

  • exclusive participation in the symposium (via Zoom)
  • Presentation of own artistic / research project within the Assembly (participants receive a presentation fee of 250 €)

If applicants require individual support to take part in IMPACT20 (e.g. audio description, live transcription, simultaneous translation in sign language), they should please include the details in their application and we’ll be happy to look into options with them.

Contact: 
Juliane Beck 
Tel.: +49 (0)201.28947 12
juliane.beck@pact-zollverein.de

 

PUBLIC LECTURES

All lectures will be streamed online. The video links will be published here shortly before the symposium.

THU 12.11. 18 H (CET)
Rosi Braidotti

Lecture

As a pioneer of posthumanism and a feminist theorist, Prof. Dr. Rosi Braidotti is a seminal figure in contemporary philosophical discourse. As the boundaries between the human and its others are becoming increasingly blurred, through our digital lives and reproductive technologies, the question of what it means to be human is taking a new turn. Braidotti proposes new and affirmative ways of producing knowledge and building communities.

THU 12.11. 19.30 H (CET)
Johannes Paul Raether
›aLifveForms in Presence, in between Appearances: Surrogates‹

Lecture

At the centre of artist Johannes Paul Raether’s work are constructed identities made up of language, technological skins, digital devices and bodies. The aLifveForms are a group of constructed identities enabled by Johannes Paul Raether, which, as new bodies, develop their own forms of reproduction and mutation. Thus the protectoramae lifeline crystallized out of a multitude of SelfSisters and AlterIdentities.

The herd of WorldWideWitches includes the ›Surrogate Witch‹ developed by Nathan Fain and Raether. As a networked entity, the ›Surrogate Witch‹ brings together digital fragments and applications in a model unit that is simultaneously a browser-based Internet platform with Java scripts, an app in the app store or a chat bot. The creation of the ›Surrogate Witch‹ gives rise to a prototypical and constantly expandable medium which, as an artistic-technological toolkit, can initiate new forms and imaginations of networked cooperation and community building which Raether calls 'Communeering' through his alter-identities. This practice is not rooted in theatre, but connects to everyday places and digital life.

FRI 13.11. 18 H (CET)
Lars Blank

Lecture

Prof. Dr. Ing. Lars M. Blank is head of the Institute of Applied Microbiology at the RWTH Aachen University. In his research he focuses on fundamental and applied aspects of microbial metabolism, and in particular on the interaction between the metabolic network and the introduced genetic and environmental perturbations.

FRI 13.11. 19.30 H (CET)
Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti & Johannes Paul Raether in conversation

Talk, moderated by Gabriele Gramelsberger

In the concluding discussion Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti and Johannes Paul Raether discuss their different approaches to the topic.

 

ASSEMBLY (EXCLUSIVELY FOR PARTICIPANTS)

SUN 15.11. 13H (CET)
Assembly 

At the Assembly, participants present and discuss their own projects within the context of IMPACT20 topics.

Articles for IMPACT

IMPACT20
Protektorama toxica (cared for by J.P. Raether), Protektox Impossible Forest [5.4.9]‹, Tanznacht Berlin (2020), Photo ©: Gosia Lehmann

IMPACT20 – PLANETARY ALLIANCES
Outlines for polyphonic communities
Online–Symposium mit Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti & Johannes Paul Raether

Seit Jahren beschäftigen sich Expert*innen aus allen Wissensbereichen mit den kom­plexen Verwebungen und vitalen Abhängig­keiten zwischen Menschlichem und Nicht­ Menschlichem. IMPACT20 lädt unter dem Titel ›Planetary Alliances‹ zum Polylog über wirkmächtige Beziehungsgeflechte, in denen der Mensch nur ein*e Akteur*in unter vielen ist.

Als wissenschaftlicher wie künstlerischer Think­Tank kreuzt IMPACT20 Perspektiven aus Biotechnologie, Naturwissenschaft, Philosophie und zeitgenössischer Kunst: Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti und Johannes Paul Raether reflektieren die Verhältnisse, Metabolismen und Beziehungen zwischen den Elementen und Akteur*innen unserer Welt und ihre Auswirkungen auf ökologi­sche, soziale, ökonomische und techno­logische Entwicklungen in einer Gemein­schaft. Wie kann aus neuen Allianzen ein neues Gemeinwesen formuliert werden, das den Menschen nicht länger ins Zen­trum der Wahrnehmung stellt?

Das in diesem Jahr erstmals online stattfin­dende Symposium, besteht dabei aus zwei Modulen: Die Lectures und Talks von und mit Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti und Johannes Paul Raether bilden einen inhaltlichen Im­puls und Rahmen. Das zweite Element ist die Assembly, bei der die Teilnehmer*innen eigene Vorhaben diskutieren. An die diesjährige Ausgabe von IMPACT schließt die Initiative JUNCTIONS an, die sich spezifisch an IMPACT-­Teilnehmer*in­nen richtet und längerfristige Forschungs­projekte unterstützten wird.

Arbeitssprache ist Englisch.

Ein Projekt im Rahmen des Bündnisses internationaler Produktionshäuser, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.

Teilnehmen 

Die Bewerbungsfrist für die Teilnahme an IMPACT20 endete am 02.11.2020.

Wer?

IMPACT20 richtet sich an Praktiker*innen und Theoretiker*innen aus den Bereichen darstellende und bildende Kunst, Wissen­ schaft, Technologie, Journalismus, Aktivismus, soziale Arbeit und Architektur.

Was?

  • exklusive Teilnahme am Symposium (via Zoom)
  •  Präsentation eigener künstlerischer Projekte / Forschungsvorhaben im Rahmen der Assembly (Vergütung in Höhe von 250 €)

Wenn die Teilnahme durch individuelle Unterstützung (wie z. B. durch Audiodeskription, Live­Transkription, Simultanübersetzung in Gebärdensprache) erleichtert werden kann, klären wir gerne in persönlicher Rückspra­che unsere Möglichkeiten und freuen uns auf Hinweise in den Bewerbungsunterlagen.

Kontakt für Rückfragen: 
Juliane Beck 
Tel.: +49 (0)201.28947 12
juliane.beck@pact-zollverein.de

 

Programm am 12.11.: Rosi Braidotti & Johannes Paul Raether

Vortrag von Rosi Braidotti & Lecture Performance von Johannes Paul Raether. Mit dem Aufruf des Videos erklären Sie sich einverstanden, dass Ihre Daten an Youtube übermittelt werden und dass Sie die Datenschutzerklärung gelesen haben.

Programm am 13.11.: Lars Blank & Round Table Talk

Vortrag von Lars Blank & Round Table Talk mit Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti, Johannes Paul Raether & Sarah Johanna Theurer, moderiert von Gabriele Gramelsberger. Mit dem Aufruf des Videos erklären Sie sich einverstanden, dass Ihre Daten an Youtube übermittelt werden und dass Sie die Datenschutzerklärung gelesen haben.

Programm

DO 12.11. 18 Uhr (MEZ)    
Rosi Braidotti

Vortrag

Als Vordenkerin des Posthumanismus und feministische Theoretikerin ist Prof. Dr. Rosi Braidotti eine prägende Stimme des gegenwärtigen philosophischen Diskur­ses. Durch die Digitalisierung des Lebens, die wachsende ökologische Katastrophe, neue Reproduktionstechnologie und die zunehmend unklaren Grenzen zwischen Menschen und anderen Wesen, gewinnt die Frage, was es bedeutet, Mensch zu sein, eine neue Relevanz. Braidotti schlägt neue und affirmative Wege der Wissensproduktion und der Konstitution von Gemein­schaften vor.

DO 12.11. 19.30 Uhr (MEZ)    
Johannes Paul Raether
›aLifveForms in Presence, in between Appearances: Surrogates‹

Vortrag

Der Künstler Johannes Paul Raether umsorgt eine Gruppe konstruierter Identitäten, die sich aus Sprache, technolo­gischen Häuten und digitalen Geräten und Körpern zusammensetzen. Als künstliche aLivfeforms spannen sie sich auf seinem BioBody auf, lösen sich zugleich immer weiter von seiner »eigenen« Identität ab und widmen sich komplexen Themen wie Reproduktions-­ und Biotechnologien, dem globalisierten Tourismus oder okkulten Substanzen zeitgenössischer Technologie. 

FR 13.11. 18 Uhr (MEZ)  
Lars Blank

Vortrag

Prof. Dr. Ing. Lars Blank ist Leiter des Instituts der Angewandten Mikrobiologie an der RWTH Aachen. In seiner Forschung kon­zentriert er sich auf grundlegende und angewandte Aspekte des mikrobiellen Stoffwechsels, sowie im Besonderen auf die Interaktion zwischen Metabolismus, eingeführter Genetik und Umwelteinflüssen.

 

FR 13.11. 19.30 Uhr (MEZ)
Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti & Johannes Paul Raether im Gespräch

Talk, moderiert von Gabriele Gramelsberger

Im abschließenden Gespräch diskutieren Lars Blank, Rosi Braidotti und Johannes Paul Raether über ihre verschiedenen Zugänge zur Thematik.

 

ASSEMBLY (EXKLUSIV FÜR TEILNEHMER*INNEN)
SO 15.11. 13 Uhr (MEZ)
Assembly 

Bei der Assembly stellen die Teilnehmer*innen eigene Vorhaben vor und diskutieren diese vor dem Hintergrund der Themen von IMPACT20.

Beiträge zu IMPACT