fieldworks alias Heine Avdal and Yukiko Shinozaki are known for their captivating multimedia performances and interactive interventions that immerse audiences in poetic in-between worlds. Conceived for a large open setting, their latest project is a concert created in collaboration with Norwegian contemporary composer Rolf Wallin and the double bell brass quartet of Ensemble Musikfabrik. In a concert situation musicians are expected to respond to one another hyper-sensitively, almost telepathically and merge their individuality into a larger unity, greater than the simple sum of its parts. ›THE OTHEROOM‹ is both a celebration of this extraordinary capacity and a ritual in its own right. Everything is in motion. The musicians have no fixed positions and the audience is free to move, or be moved, within a spatial framework where reality and imagination co-exist and thoughts and interactions manifest in physical movement.

Keine Dauerveranstaltung

Fieldworks (BE)

Heine Avdal (NO/BE) studied dance, choreography and video at the Oslo National College of the Arts in Norway and at P.A.R.T.S. in Brussels. He has worked as a performer for various companies in Norway. Since 2000 he has been frequently collaborating with Yukiko Shinozaki.

In recent projects, his focus has been on the distribution of space. He questions how spatial conventions affect the way we experience and move through private/public spaces. more...

Advance sales:
11 € / red. 6 €
Box office:
13 € / red. 8 €
(incl. VRR-Ticket)

Composition, concept:  Rolf Wallin
Choreography, scenography, concept:  Heine Avdal, Yukiko Shinozaki
Music created and performed by: Musicians of the double bell brass quartet of Ensemble Musikfabrik - Marco Blaauw (double bell trumpet), Christine Chapman (double bell French horn), Bruce Collings (double bell trombone), Melvyn Poore (double bell euphonium)
Performers:  Heine Avdal, Michiel Reynaert, Krisjanis Sants, Benjamin Vandewalle
Performed also by: Orfee Schuijt
Assistance: Kayoko Minami, Ingrid Haakstad
Technical director: Hans Meijer
Technician: Matthieu Virot
Live-electronics:  Rolf Wallin
Sound technicians: Fabrice Moinet, Johann Loiseau
Production:  Fieldworks (Brussels), Heine Avdal (Oslo), Ultima Festival (Oslo)
Co-production: STUK (Leuven)
Supported by: Norsk Kulturråd, Flemish Authorities, Flemish Community Commission, PACT Zollverein (Essen)

Leider verwenden Sie eine Version des Internet Explorers,
die viele Funktionen unserer Webseite nicht unterstützt.

Bitte aktualisieren Sie mindestens auf Version 8,
um in vollem Umfang nutzen zu können.

Vielen Dank!
Team PACT Zollverein

- - -

Unfortunately you are using a version of Internet Explorer
that does not support a lot of features of our website.

Please update to at least to version 8
to use to the full extent.

Thank you!
Team PACT Zollverein